Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

PortalHomeEventsLatest imagesSearchRegisterMultiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season 15fqg5j_thLog in


 Multiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season

Go down 

Male Number of posts : 3912
Age : 38
Registration date : 2008-01-14

Multiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season Empty
PostSubject: Multiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season   Multiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season Icon_minitimeSun Dec 09, 2018 3:31 pm

Multiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season

After a long year of battling their fellow competitors and overcoming inclement weather from time to time, 6 deserving teams ultimately prevailed and can now celebrate their SRI Performance South Eastern Crate Association championship efforts. While some rode the momentum of early success or made late season charges, some just remained consistent throughout the 2018 campaign. Despite their respective paths to success, each has rightfully earned their position atop their respective division.

While the SECA Late Model division featured some new drivers in the Top 10, it was a familiar face that ultimately secured the weekly championship. Trent Ivey became the only Late Model competitor with multiple weekly championships by edging out 2017 Champion Dillon Brown to earn his 2nd championship title. The Union, South Carolina driver was joined in the Top 5 by Brown, Bryan Mullis, 2017 runner-up Timbo Mangum, and Ron Geehring.

Though the margin of victory in the late model championship battle was of the slimmest of margins, Hank Taylor and Jeff Parsons would not allow the SECA Modified Division to take a back seat. In the early months of the season, it appeared that the race to the championship would be decided between Parsons, Jesse Rockett, and Chris Stowe. Taylor, who made his modified debut in June, fought his way to the championship lead and held off the hard charging Parsons to earn his 1st weekly championship by the slim margin of 2 points. Rockett, Stowe, and Jason Wallace rounded out the Top 5.

Presented by Axles Plus, SECA Sportsman competition saw Bill Knight enter the 2018 campaign determined to successfully defend his 2017 championship. A consistent threat for the win each time he took to the track, the South Carolina veteran was strong throughout the entire season and became the 2nd driver to win multiple Sportsman championships. Calob McLaughlin continued his ascension to the top of the division and edged out John Price in a feverish battle for the runner-up spot in the final standings. Jacob Catoe and Kris Frost completed the Top 5.

The 2018 season introduced the Thunder Bomber division to SECA featuring 27 drivers competing at various tracks vying for the inaugural Weekly Championship. It was a tight weekly battle with the Top 5 positions only separated by 50 points at season’s end. Timmy Smith captured the title by only 7 points over runner-up Steve Greene. Chris Meadows, Perry Waters, and Johnny Westmoreland rounded out the Top 5.

2018 marked the 1st season that SECA Late Model competition featured a touring series as the SRI Topless Tour was introduced. Offering increased purses for the race teams and a unique look for the fans, the tour presented additional opportunities for teams willing to travel to different SECA tracks throughout the region. As many had predicted, the championship battle came down to the final race at Cherokee Speedway. Bryan Mullis and Timbo Mangum battled throughout the season and while both were deserving champions, a 3rd place finish by Mullis at the season finale sealed the deal for the Rock Hill, SC racer. With Top 5 finishes in all but one SRI Topless Tour event, Mullis held off the persistent Mangum for the championship. They were joined in the Top 5 by Trent Ivey, Dillon Brown, and James Plemmons.

The 2018 Thunder Bomber Shootout, presented by Lanny Irby Race Cars, saw 16 race teams travel to 5 different tracks. At the end of the 7 race shootout, Steve Greene and Jason Edmonds both had 1 win each, with Josh Hellams collecting 3 checkered flags Despite only having one win, consistency paid off for Greene as the Forest City, NC native captured the championship, edging out Jason Edmonds by 2 points. Danny Edmonds secured 3rd as Hellams and Chris Meadows completed the Top 5 rundown.

On behalf of the entire South Eastern Crate Association family, we congratulate these teams, thank our tracks, and extend our appreciation to each of our marketing partners for their continued support. We look forward to celebrating these accomplishments at the upcoming Championship Banquet which will be announced in the coming days.

Visit the South Eastern Crate Association online at www.secaracing.com .

Back to top Go down
Multiple Championship Efforts Highlight 2018 Season
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Emory's Consistency Fuels Championship Season
» Cherokee Speedway 2018 Race Season Comes To A Close
» 2018 Carolina Clash Championship Awards Banquet Set For January 19th

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
DirtRippers :: Series Forums :: South Eastern Crate Association-
Jump to: