Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

PortalHomeEventsLatest imagesSearchRegisterIt’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50 15fqg5j_thLog in


 It’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50

Go down 

Male Number of posts : 3912
Age : 38
Registration date : 2008-01-14

It’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50 Empty
PostSubject: It’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50   It’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50 Icon_minitimeMon Nov 26, 2018 7:20 pm

It’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50

RACE RECAP: LANCASTER, SC - The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series presented by Max Fab made its final stop of the year Saturday night at the Lancaster Speedway in South Carolina and fan favorite Chris Ferguson of Mt Holly, NC., took over the top spot around the midway point and never looked back as he took home the $10,000 check and his second career Southern All Star win. This was the first time the series returned to the ½ mile South Carolina facility since 2005 when Jimmy Owens took the win.

Zach Mitchell set the tone of the night in SUNOCO Race Fuels/Knowles Race Parts qualifying with a 19.000 second lap that put him on the pole for the first heat with Ross Bailes setting quick time in group b and the pole in heat two. Mitchell backed up his fast qualifying effort with the Hoosier Racing Tires heat race win over Ben Watkins and Michael Brown and in Hoosier Racing Tires heat race number two Jeff Smith scored the win over Chris Madden and Ross Bailes in a thrilling race that had Smith and Madden get by Bailes on the last lap.

The Palmetto State 50 was next as Mitchell and Smith brought the field to the green Mitchell took off in the lead with Smith right behind him Watkins and then Madden. Madden worked his way around the cars of Watkins and then got to Smith to take over the second spot and then working his way to the leader after several early race cautions Madden made his move and took the top spot coming-out turn four only to lead half lap as he slowed down the back stretch and pulled in with a broken axle ending his night. Mitchell retained the lead, but it would not be for long as Ferguson started 8th and made his move to the front and slowly worked his way thru the field and then took over the lead from Mitchell and then went on to build up a huge lead at times only to have late race cautions bunch the field back up behind him, but Ferguson was the car to beat as he held off late race challenges by Brandon Overton and Michael Brown to get the win. Brown came home in the second spot, Michael Maresca of Potsdam, NY came from the 20th starting spot he field for a third place finish, fourth to Ross Bailes and fifth to Overton.

Finishing in sixth place was Ben Watkins, seventh to Kyle Hardy, eighth place to Joey Coulter, ninth place to Mark Dysart and tenth to Mark Dodson.

RACE TIDBITS: Southern All Stars wrapped up the 2018 season as Jay Scott took the Championship and the Cruise with second place to Mark Dodson, third to Ray McElhiney, fourth Eric Hickerson and fifth to Joseph Faulkner.

Mark Dodson was the only driver in the top five in series points to make the trip to South Carolina as fifth place Joseph Faulkner was on his way when the trailer broke on the interstate and they could not attend the event.

This was the second race of the year in the state of South Carolina and the 2019 season opener will be at the Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, SC., for March Madness on Sunday afternoon March 3rd.

Joseph Faulkner won the AR Bodies Challenge over Eric Hickerson and Brad Skinner

First time starts with the series this season include Michael Maresca, Ben Watkins, Mark Dysart, Anthony Sanders, Kevin Godwin, Chuck Smith, David Yandle, and Keith Jacobs

Ferguson Sponsors: Sweet-Bloomquist/Clements/RPM Truck & Trailer Service/Live Oak Aesthetic and Family Dentistry/Champion/Langley Collision Center/Carver & Sons Roofing/Keith Handyman Services

Car Count: 21

SUNOCO RACE FUELS GROUP QUALIFYING: Group A: Zach Mitchell Group B Ross Bailes

Knowles Race Parts Fast Qualifier: Zach Mitchell 19.000

Hoosier Racing Tires Heat Race Winners: Mitchell-Smith

PPM Race Products B Mains:

AR Bodies Last Car Lead Lap: Joey Coulter

COR Suspensions 10th Place Finisher: Mark Dodson

36 Racing & Fabrication Hard Charger: Michael Maresca

Race Car Engineering Hard Luck Award: Chris Madden

BrakeOMeter 4th Place Finisher Award: Ross Bailes

Rugged Radios Communications Award: Chuck Smith

Results Pending Tire Test: 1.Chris Ferguson; 2.Michael Brown; 3.Michael Maresca; 4.Ross Bailes; 5.Brandon Overton; 6.Ben Watkins; 7.Kyle Hardy; 8.Joey Coulter; 9.Mark Dysart; 10.Mark Dodson; 11.Zach Mitchell; 12.Chris Madden; 13.Anthony Sanders; 14.Jeff Smith; 15.Kevin Godwin; 16.Bo Eaton; 17.Chuck Smith; 18.David Yandle; 19.Doug Sanders; 20.Keith Jacobs

DNS: Dennis Franklin

For more information concerning the Southern All Stars contact Lynn Acklin - General Manager: 256-924-4546 www.sasdirt.com

2018 SOUTHERN ALL STAR POINTS STANDINGS PRESENTED BY MAXFAB: 1.Jay Scott 1294; 2.Mark Dodson 1174; 3.Ray McElhiney 976; 4.Eric Hickerson 834 5.Joseph Faulkner 776; 6.Kenny Collins 688 7.Riley Hickman 608; 8.Casey Roberts 536; 9.Brad Skinner 526; 10.Cory Hedge(not a nice word)(not a nice word)(not a nice word)(not a nice word) 450;

2018 CRUISE WITH THE CHAMPIONS/DIRTONDIRT.COM ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 1.Jay Scott 1294; 2.Mark Dodson 1174; 3.Ray McElhiney 976; 4. Joseph Faulkner 776; 5.Pearson Lee Williams 78.

2018 AR Bodies Challenge: 1.Joseph Faulkner 370; 2.Eric Hickerson 257; 3.Brad Skinner 245; 4.Kenny Collins 143; 5.David Brannon 90; 6.Dalton Polston 74; 7.Steve Smith 47; 8.Mitch Thornton 46; 9.Riley Hickman 45; 10.Terry Smith 43; 11 Dwight Falcon Jr 40; 12.Bret Holmes 39; 13.Dwight Falcon Sr 39; 14.Tommy Taylor 37; 15.Will Roland 33; 16.Ryan King 32. 17. Dave Duplissey 29; 18.Jackson Hale 23; 19.Rodney Martin 24; 20.Tyler Hurst 21; 21.Jeff Johns 20.


2018 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Sponsors:
*Hoosier Racing Tire “The Official Race Tire” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series
*Patriot Sports “The Official Merchandise Vendor” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series
*Sunoco Race Fuel “The Official Racing Fuel” of the Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series
*MaxFab Presenting Sponsor

2018 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Marketing Partners Include: AR Bodies, Brodix Cylinder Heads, COR Suspensions, Cruise with the Champions, DirtonDirt.com, H3 Performance Graphics, Integra Racing Shocks, MSR Mafia Web Design and Service, PPM Racing Products, RockAuto.com, 36 Racing & Fabrication, Racecar Engineering, BrakeOMeter, Dirt Car Lift


Back to top Go down
It’s Fergy Time At Lancaster Southern All Star Palmetto State 50
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Neil Baggett Adds His Name To Southern All Star Winners List At Southern Raceway
» Michael Page Another First Time Winner With The Southern All Stars
» Austin Horton All Smiles After First Career Southern All Star Win
» Jackson Hale Becomes 6th First Time Winner with Southern All Stars B J Parker Memorial
» Michael Chilton Grabs Richmond Raceway Southern All Star Win

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
DirtRippers :: Series Forums :: Southern All Star Racing Series-
Jump to: